top of page

Embarrassing Moments

“The most wasted of all the days is one without laughter.” – E. Cummings

As learners return to school after a much needed Spring break, we have asked students and faculty to share some of their most embarrassing moments. Whether from their time at TFC or from elsewhere, below is a list of embarrassing moments in the lives of Toccoa Falls College faculty/staff and students. May this be a reminder that we are all human and make mistakes.

Ashley Floyd: “My most embarrassing moments typically occur because I’ve done something without thinking and cause myself the embarrassment. Here’s an example: I was in McDonald's once on a road trip with my family. While they were upfront getting the food, I went to find a seat. I spotted one of those tall tables with tall thin stools attached to the floor next to a window. Well, I was about 5 ft. away from it, and (again, not thinking), did a little skip, a hop, landed up on one of the stools (for which I was aiming) and slid off the other side, slamming into the window. The funny thing was, no one else in the restaurant saw it, except this mother who was sitting in a booth with her family, facing me. No one else at her table even saw it. I think she was embarrassed for me because she looked away when we made eye contact immediately after.”

Heather Ganong: “I once hard-boiled my pet turtle. I wanted to give him a bath and I had no idea what hot water was. He turned an ungodly shade of white, may he rest in peace.”

Tristan Bowen: “Yeah, like two weeks ago I was leaving the Admissions Office, and as I was walking down the stairs I fell, hit seven steps, and spilled coffee literally all over me. Let me tell you, those stairs are slippery.”

Lashay King: “I love to dance. I’m passionate about it. When I was younger, I was part of a dance company that traveled and performed at schools. With that being said, we were performing one specific day, and we had to do the same dance three different times. I knew this dance, I was comfortable with the routine and knew exactly what I needed to do in order to be successful. During the first dance, I fell. We did the dance a second time and I fell in the same spot. On the third time we did this dance I fell in the same exact spot again. When I asked my dance coach about this all she had to say was “I saw you one moment and I didn't see you the next.”

Jessi Taylor: “Once my brother and I thought that it would be a great idea to tie our ankles together on a trampoline and see who fell first. My brother was about a foot taller than I was and weighed about 50 more pounds than I did, so I always fell first. That being said, once I was down he dragged me around the trampoline for a victory lap.”

Taylor Keene: “There was that time I fell up the admissions stairs. I turned around and knew that one of the Letourneau girls had to have seen me fall. I could not help but laugh at myself and continue throughout my day.”

*Please note that permission was granted in the making of this article.

bottom of page