top of page

Ten Things I Wish I Would Have Known As A Freshman


As a senior, I find myself reflecting back to the things I knew, or didn't know, during my first year here. As the end of this year rolls in, and seniors begin packing up their dorm rooms for the very last time, a list of ten things comes to mind. That list consists of things I wish I would have known as a Freshman.

Time flies: when you first get to college, the long four years ahead seem like they are going to drag. You think of all the assignments and things that you have to get done before the glorious day of graduation comes, but in hindsight, time goes by much quicker than you think it will. One day, it’s your first day on campus and soon the moments you have left on campus are winding down. If I could tell my first-year-here-self something, it would be to slow down and enjoy it. It goes by much quicker than you think.

Grades aren’t everything: sometimes it seems like getting a 70 is the worst thing in the world and you’re a failure because of it, (I’ve definitely had that thought) but you aren’t. Your worth does not come from your grades; sometimes, things are just hard. Take a deep breath and do your best, because, really, that’s all you can do.

Self-care: I did not understand the term self-care when I got here and promptly burned myself out. While self-care seems time consuming, when you feel like you could be doing something better, more productive, this is what I remind myself -- In order to do things well, and to help and love people, you have to have something to give. If your cup is empty, you can’t give anything. So take time for yourself, because burnout is real and it sucks and you deserve a break.

Invest: invest in relationships, in your major, in your b-group, in the TFC community, in the church you attend, and in the Toccoa community. It can be easy to give the bare minimum, I did for a while. But invest in the community you are in and it will change your life. It’s amazing and wonderful and you build relationships that will last for a lifetime.

Get to know your professors: Our campus is not like other campuses and our relationships with our professors aren't either which is amazing. This is something that I absolutely love about TFC. At first I was hesitant because it’s not the most normal thing to do outside of TFC, but get to know your professors! They are amazing and have so much wisdom and knowledge to share with you, not only in class, but outside of it.

SAVE ALL YOUR MAJOR CLASS NOTES AND WORK: if someone hasn’t already told you that, i'm sorry. This is so important and comes in handy, especially if you are in a major where you will have to take a comprehensive oral exam to graduate. I know it seems like a lot, but, I promise, you won’t be sorry when you reach the end.

It’s hard: it’s hard being away from home, friends, family, pets, and the comforts that home offers. But it will get better, and, soon, this place will become your home, as well.

It’s okay to ask for help: sometimes you can’t do everything or handle everything like you wish you could, and that is okay. There is no problem or shame in asking for help when you need it. People love you and are there for you, and you are not a bother.

Have fun: don’t be so serious all the time. The papers will get written and assignments turned in, but remember to take time to go have fun with your friends, laugh, and be a little crazy. Have dance parties and stay up all night laughing. Those are going to be the memories you look back on, not that paper that almost killed you (although that can make some pretty awesome memories too).

Procrastination: it seems like a good idea, and I know you make the excuse that you do your best work under pressure, but please remember you need sleep (directed to me in my current state because of all the work that stands between me and graduation).

My years spent on this amazing campus have been filled with so much happiness, sadness, stress, and memories. I seriously wouldn’t trade any of it for the world. If anything, I hope that when you read this, you are reminded to cherish the time you have here, because it will come to an end. I hope when you reach the end, you had as amazing of a time as I did.

bottom of page