top of page

Behind the Scenes (vol. 1)


If you’ve ever been a part of theater, you know that it is one of the most unique and often eccentric types of community to find yourself in. Oscar Wilde once said, “I regard theatre as the greatest of all art forms, the most immediate way in which a human can share with another the sense of what it is to be a human being.” Sharing the experience of theater is an opportunity to connect with others and embark on adventures of creative expression. An added bonus at TFC’s Theatrical Society (TFCTS) is that the community is explicitly dedicated to bring honor and glory to God through the arts - an opportunity that can be few and far between in the greater art community.

I took the opportunity to ask some TFCTS officers and members why theater is important to them. If you or someone you know is interested in joining the Theatrical Society, I encourage you to take their testimony into consideration:

 

"The TFC Theatrical Society has been a major contributor in my formation as a person and also as a leader. This group of people have been a special kind of community that is hard to find anywhere else. God has used this role as Senior Manager to encourage me in my strengths and grow me in my weaknesses."

-Alison Lamb (Senior Manager)

"The Theatrical Society has been a way for me to explore creativity, come out of my shell as a person, and discover a community that always has an encouraging environment. It has given me the opportunity to make friends on campus and is challenging but also a stress reliever - a break from school and homework to be around people that all have one goal and that is to put a play together and do it with excellence while representing God. It truly has been a wonderful experience."

-Kathleen Terrell (Hospitality Manager)

"The TFCTS has given me the opportunity to express myself in a healthy and Christlike manner. The Society has given me a community to become a part, which is vital to the college experience. The role as costume manager has allowed me to interact with cast and be a part of everyone’s experience, and has allowed me to work towards making their time wonderful."

-Joshua Trice (Costume Manager)

"I have found some of the most open and honest people on campus to be in the Theatrical Society. From my experience in being an actress, officer, and director, I have been able to learn various skills concerning people and relationships. It is really easy to learn what to do, and what not to do, from interacting with the members and being on both sides of leading and being lead. It takes no little commitment to be a part of this group, but with many benefits such as real and deep friendships and being able to find passion for art, it is 100% worth joining if a person is willing to put forth the effort."

-Kate Schoolcraft (Financial Manager)

"Theater means a lot to me. I have experienced positive relationships and supportive community. Few communities compare to the experience. I have been challenged - forced out of my comfort zone and pushed to grow as a person. The Theatrical Society taught me leadership, respect, and responsibility. The TFCTS significantly impacted my time at TFC, and I’ll always remember it fondly."

-Joshua (Bogo) Bogoniewski (alumnus and actor)

 

If you have further questions about the Theatrical Society, feel free to find an officer, actor, or other member - I can almost guarantee they will have no problem using their improvisation skills to create a script of reasons to join. ;)

Follow the Theatrical Society on Facebook ("TFC Theatrical Society") and Instagram (@tfctheatricalsociety) for announcements and more! And remember to mark your calendars for their performance of "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" (by Jon Jory), taking place March 27-29.

bottom of page