top of page

An Interview with Jordan Brown

Jordan Brown is the new Director of Spiritual Formation at Toccoa Falls College this year. He grew up in Michigan, went to college in Minnesota, graduated school in Illinois, then lived in Wisconsin for seven years before beginning his position at TFC. He and his wife have been married for 10 years and have three children. Recently we were able to ask Mr. Brown some questions about his life, testimony, and vision for Toccoa Falls College.


What is your testimony?

"My journey of faith begins with my parents who made the decision to become Christ-followers in their twenties, leaving behind a life consumed with alcohol and drugs. A few years after their conversion, they followed God’s call into full-time ministry. As a result of their experience, I grew up in a household that frequently talked about faith in Christ. I made a decision to follow Jesus at the age of four. I only have a faint recollection of this event, but I believe this is when my conversion occurred.

Throughout the rest of my childhood there were several important moments in my faith journey. For example, at ten years old I responded to an altar call at a Christian summer camp as a way to publicly declare that I wanted to follow Christ. And later that summer, I was baptized at a church retreat.  However, my faith came to a turning point as a young teenager when I started to grasp that I needed to make my faith my own, and not just follow along with my parents’ convictions. In the summer of 2003, I shared that with my parents. Soon after making this declaration, with my faith stronger than ever, I started looking for ways to serve the Lord. I began leading worship, I became more active in my church, and I developed an unquenchable thirst for knowledge about the Bible and my faith.

My passion for serving the Lord and knowing more about my faith ultimately led me to pursue a degree in Bible and Theology at Crown College. It was there, after years of prayer and reflection as well as guidance and affirmation from my mentors and professors, that I felt called to pursue a life of academic ministry. In response to this calling, I have attended several fabulous graduate schools. Each of these has significantly advanced my knowledge and both challenged and developed my faith. In the midst of my academic pursuits, however, I have always also sought to stay active with the local church by taking on several different leadership roles and also by working with an organization that seeks to guide and assist churches. This dual focus ultimately reflects my desire to integrate faith with academia. I love how I am able to do this in my role at TFC!"


What does your role at TFC entail?

"As the Director of Spiritual formation I am generally tasked with helping TFC students grow into the likeness of Christ. I am in charge of several initiatives on campus that encourage this to take place. I oversee the chapel program, B-Groups, and anything that allows you to earn Spiritual Formation Credits. Additionally, most semesters I get to teach a spiritual formation course."


What are you most excited about in your new position?

"I am most excited about just connecting with students at TFC. I love working with college students because they are journeying through such an important season of life. They are emerging as adults and trying to figure out who they are, they are asking deep questions about faith, and they are primed for incredible growth mentally, emotionally, and spiritually."

What are your hobbies outside of work?

"I love playing guitar, playing soccer, hiking, fishing, and spending time with my wife and kids. I also enjoy taking in a good movie or football game (Green Bay Packers or Ohio State)."


What is something people may be surprised to learn about you?

"My love for eating good food has led me into a passion for cooking. I love trying to find the perfect recipe for my favorite foods. For example, I’ve been consumed for over a decade with finding a mind blowing hummus recipe. I’ve come pretty close!"

bottom of page