top of page

Practicing Patience and Kindness


This past summer, I worked at a rafting center on the Nantahala River. This job allowed me to have a lot of freedom and fun both on and off the clock. Naturally, on our days off, most of the staff and I would go rafting on various rivers. One of the first times we had a day off together, a girl I worked closely with offered to teach me how to guide a raft. I immediately took her up on the offer. The three hour trip down the Nantahala was filled with so many mistakes, but also so much laughter. She taught me the different strokes I could do to steer the raft and how to correct myself on rough rapids. We took our time and she was very patient with me as we made our way down the river. That day had been so peaceful and sunny; it was perfect for a rafting trip, and there are few moments that I can say I was that at peace doing something new. My guide's patience and enthusiasm to teach me encouraged me to feel confident in the small victories. The simple act of her being willing to patiently show me how to do something new and trust me enough to bring her down Class 3-4 rapids was more impactful than I can truly express.


Friends, I challenge you to be like her. Show those around you the kindness of being willing to go alongside others as they face a new mountain. Show those around you patience that does not make sense. The simple act of being kind in your patience is an encouragement to everyone you come across; it brings people peace. As Christians, I want to challenge you to practice the kindness that God gives to us every day.


One of the sweetest things I have ever experienced was in my junior year of high school. I was having a rough week with AP classes, art class, working 20 plus hours, and trying to do youth ministry on top of that. My mentor at the time knew all that was going on and in a last-second decision, she faked an excuse to come over to my house. Later that day, she showed up on my front door-step with flowers and chocolate. She had driven from Norcross to Buford, GA because she knew I was feeling bad. She had never been to my house before but felt the need to cheer me up in person that day. I felt more loved and cared for than I can express. Even to this day, I can look back on that memory with extreme fondness and be encouraged by her actions.


Your actions carry weight, and those simple acts of kindness that you do go a lot farther than you realize. This coming week, I challenge you to pursue a life of showing those around you an immeasurable amount of kindness and love, because I promise you, they will look back on those memories and actions with fondness, and be encouraged by them years later.

bottom of page